History of Dalmain
Dalmain Primary School is the oldest school in Forest Hill and the oldest state school in Lewisham, the first created after compulsorily elementary education to age 12 was introduced by the Forster‘s Education Act 1870.
Grove Road Board School (separate Boys and Girls schools) was built on the corner of Brockley Rise and Grove Road in 1873, with the first pupils recorded in April 1874. These were mainly aged 9-12 as schooling was only compulsory between these ages.
A mixed junior school was added in 1899 for those under 9 and then an infant school. The school became co-educational in the interwar period with a new building opened in 1928 and then Primary only as the school leaving age was raised at the end of WW11.
Whilst local area has changed significantly, both in terms of buildings and population, Dalmain has consistently served its local community for nearly 150 years.
Dalmain is perhaps unique in the area in being the only school to retain original log books dating back to the day the school opened on 13 April 1874 - covering almost a century - together with photographs covering school plays, sports days and trips going back to the 1920s. They provide a fascinating insight into the development of the school and its place in the area.